Keepit supports in-place restore for individual Salesforce records. Records can be restored by themselves or together with related records (all records lower in the hierarchy). 

Keepit also supports in-place restore of multiple Salesforce records at a time. The option to also restore related records is not available in a bulk restore. 

Records of standard and custom objects can be restored. The records of certain types of standard objects can only be downloaded or shared. These types of records are found in object folders, which are marked with a special icon as seen below in the table. 

Restoring a record brings back all attached files and attachments. The content of files and attachments cannot be restored on their own. 


Records

Restore a Salesforce record

1. Browse your folders or use the search to find your record.

Note: Records are found in Objects > object type.

2. Optional: If you want to restore a record from an earlier point in time, select the Snapshots Viewer, and then select the appropriate snapshot.

3. To the right of the record, select ••• > Restore.

Note: To preview the record, select the item to open the File Previewer. In the upper-left corner, select the Restore icon.

4. Select the method of restore and then select Next.

  • Restore only this record - Restoring only this record will restore only the selected record and no related records. 
  • Also restore related record(s) - Restoring related record(s) will restore the selected record as well as all related records. 

Note: Regardless of which method you select, the Job Monitor will show that more items were restored than selected. These additional items are metafiles that are invisible to the user in Salesforce but necessary for the proper functioning of the record.

5. Review the restore summary and the select Confirm.


Restore Salesforce records in bulk

You can restore multiple records at a time. The option to also restore related records is not available in a bulk restore. 

1. In your connector, find the records you want to download. 

2. Optional: If you want to restore records from an earlier point in time, select the Snapshots Viewer, and then select the appropriate snapshot.

3. Select the checkboxes next to the items you want to restore.

4. In the toolbar select the restore icon.

5. Select Yes to restore the records.


Restoring deleted items in bulk

Deleted items cannot be restored in bulk. These items can be restored one at a time by selecting ••• > Restore.

To restore these items in bulk, you must first open a snapshot from a time before these items were deleted. For example, if you want to restore multiple items in a folder that has been deleted, check the timestamp of the folder, open the Snapshots Viewer, and then select a snapshot from a time before it was deleted. You will now see the option to restore these items in bulk. 


What happens to your record(s) after you restore

The record (and if applicable all related records) will be restored back to Salesforce. All records will receive new IDs when they are restored.

If the record still exists in Salesforce and has the same ID, we will check the modification time:

  • If it has a different modification time, then we will overwrite it.
  • If it as the same modification time, then we will skip it.


Records with mandatory links

A child record with a mandatory link to a deleted parent record cannot be restored - the restore job will fail. To restore this child record, you must first restore the parent record, and then restore the child record.

If we encounter a loop, in which two records are both child and parent to one another and have mandatory links, we may not be able to handle them properly. In this case, some of the items may not be restored and the job will be marked as failed. 


Fields

Custom picklist status fields are backed up and restored, but Standard picklist status fields cannot be restored.

To recover these statuses, we recommend opening the backed up records using the Keepit previewer and then manually entering the statuses in Salesforce. 


Custom records types and custom page layouts

If a record created via a custom record type is deleted from Salesforce and then restored from Keepit, it will be restored as the master (default) record type. This means that field values that do not belong to the master record type will not be restored and that the record will be restored with default page layout settings.

Additionally, the set of users who have access to the restored record may change as only those who have access to the master record type will see the record.

To recover a record with a custom record type, copy the fields from the backed up record in Keepit and create a new record via a custom record type in Salesforce with these field values.


Files and Attachments


How to recover files and attachments

Files and Attachments are backed up in separate root folders that are found together with the Objects folder.

The Attachments folder contains files that were attached to records in Salesforce Classic.

 The Files folder contains files that were attached to record in Lightning Experience and files that were uploaded to Files in a Salesforce organization.

There is no option to restore the items in these folders individually.

To recover files and attachments, you have two options:

  • Download the file or attachment and then manually upload it back to Salesforce
  • If the file or attachment is attached to a record, restore the record to automatically bring back the file or attachment. 

Inside the Objects folder, there is also an Attachments folder. The items are the same as those in the Attachments root folder but here the items only contain the metadata of the attachments. These items can be restored but no content will be recovered.

What happens to files and attachments that are restored with records

Files and attachments of each record as well as of all related records will be restored.

Restored files will retain the same owners, but the creator will become the admin.

All files will be restored to the Files tab of the file's owner.

Only the latest version of a file is backed up and restored.

All of a file's permissions will be restored.

Restored files will receive a new modification time - the time of restore.

In case the restored file still exists in Salesforce:

  • If the restored file has a different modification time and differs from the latest version in Salesforce, then we will create a new version of the file.
  • If the restored file has a different modification time, then we will overwrite the latest version in Salesforce.
  • If the restored file has the same modification time, then we will skip it.

If you want to recover a file or attachment, you have two options:

  • Download the file and then upload it back to Salesforce
  • If it is attached to a record, you can restore the record, which will automatically bring back the file/attachment