Use AD Groups Selection
We recommend you add users to your backup by using the AD groups selection. This makes it easier to configure the backup of multiple users at a time and gives you more control over what new users are being added to the back up.
If you have not already done so, create dedicated groups of users from your Active Directory. You will then be able to choose these AD groups in the Keepit configuration when selecting what user accounts to back up.
New users and groups automatically added to your backup
The backup configuration works by automatically adding to the backup all new users and groups. This way you can rest assured that all your users and data are always being protected.
The auto-add function works the following:
- If you select All groups - all new groups that are created and all new users who are added to any groups will automatically be added to the backup.
- If you select a group type (i.e., unified groups) - all new groups of this type that are created and all new users who are added to these groups will automatically be added to the backup.
- If you select one specific group - all new users who are added to this group will automatically be added to the backup.
- If you select All users - all new users who are created in your Active Directory will automatically be added to backup.
- If you select Users not in groups - all new users who are created in your Active Directory and not in any groups will automatically be added to the backup.
We recommend you select All groups and include all needed groups and users under this level.
If needed, you can then explicitly exclude certain groups or users, while still having the auto add function enabled.
Exclude a user, group type, or group
If you want new users or groups to be automatically added to the backup, but don't want specific users or groups to be backed up, you can uncheck these specific users or groups. If the level above is checked (and accordingly the auto-add function is enabled), check a subgroup or a user from the list to exclude it. The red check means it has been explicitly excluded from the backup.
Limit what users are automatically added to the backup
If you don't want any new users to be automatically added to your backup, include in your backup only specific AD groups and do not add any new users to these groups.
Making changes to your groups and users selection
The configuration works in such a way that the groups selection on the left side always supersedes the user selection on the right side.
Accordingly, each time you make a change to your groups selection on the left side, it resets the user selection on the right side.
This means if you explicitly exclude a user in the list on the right, and then select any of the check boxes on the left, the user will no longer be excluded from your backup selection. If you want the user to be excluded, you will have to exclude them again before you select OK and save your connector configuration.
If you had users already excluded when you first opened the configuration screen but selected a check box on the left, to return your original selection you can select Cancel.
Link Exchange and OneDrive AD Groups Selection
If you are backing up both Exchange and OneDrive data areas, by default your Exchange and OneDrive groups selections are linked. This means that user configuration is synchronized – whatever group or user you select in the Exchange configuration will be selected in the OneDrive configuration, and vice versa.
If you want to select different AD groups and users for each data area, unlink the Exchange and OneDrive AD groups selection.
Important: If you have had different AD groups selected and backed up for Exchange and OneDrive, but then decide to link the selection, the user configuration will synchronize from the data area you enable it. This means if you enable it from the Exchange configuration, then the OneDrive's AD groups selection will be cleared and the Exchange selection will be applied to OneDrive, and vice versa.