You can use the Restore Wizard to restore entire groups along with their team data or to restore only parts of your group data. 

To restore individual channels or posts, see Restore team channels and posts.
To restore individual groups or teams items, use the Item Restore.

Note: Wiki pages are backed up, but they cannot be restored, only downloaded or shared.

To restore group and team data:

1. To open the Restore Wizard, to the right of your connector select the Restore icon.

2. Select Restore, and then select Next.

3. Select a snapshot from the time you want to restore, and select Next.

4. Select Groups & Teams, and then select Next.
5. Select the groups and data types you want to restore, and then select Next.
Tip: To recover a whole group, select all data types.

6. Select how to handle duplicate items, and then select Next

You have two options:

Skip duplicate items

  • Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will be skipped.
  • Modified plan tasks (same item but with different timestamps) will overwrite the plan tasks in Groups.


Overwrite existing items

  • Modified items (including plans) (same item but with different timestamps) will overwrite items in Groups & Teams.


7. Review the summary, and then select Restore.
Important: Group conversations, calendar events, plan tasks, and files present in Groups & Teams but not in the snapshot will be deleted.

Team channel posts and replies present in Groups & Teams but not in the snapshot will not be deleted.